9 Comments
author

I'll admit it: I read less this year than I wanted to. There was a period of several months when I was barely reading books at all. But I just finished Savage Tongues by Azareen Van Der Vliet Oloomi and it was so beautiful, so dense and exploratory. I loved the way time was flattened and lengthened and compressed and circuitous. I remember once in my first real writing workshop being told that my writing was too "psychological" and this book made me remember how I was writing back then, really pulling apart threads and examining each one. The protagonist in this story travels with a friend to an apartment in which she lived when she was a teenager, the site of abuse for her. It's a beautiful and terrible reflection of rape, colonization, separation, and friendship.

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2021Liked by River Selby (they/them)

Basin and Range by John McPhee. Book one of a five part series on the geologic history of North America. Beautifully written. I've read lots of geology texts, but all the dog ears in this book are not for facts I want to recall, but for phases and descriptions I loved. I'm mostly done with the second, and hope to be finished before the end of the year, and then I plan to read the remaining three in 2022.

Expand full comment

My favourites this year:

The Year of Magical Thinking, Didion;

Gilead, Marylinne Robinson;

Autumn, Ali Smith;

I beati giorni del castigo, Fleur Jaeggy;

Piranesi, Clarke;

The 1619 Project, Nikole Hannah-Jones;

Shock Doctrine, Klein;

Invisible Women, Pérez Criado

(Only when writing I realised that they are all written by women)

Expand full comment

I started so many books, but the only one I finished and then started again was BELLY OF THE BEAST by Da'Shaun L. Harrison. I've raved about it a lot on Twitter and StoryGraph but it is just an incredibly accessible, rich, and revolutionary text of queer fat theory and resistance. It blew my mind, introduced to me a number of new concepts, clarified for me some very central aspects to fat liberation and the concept of "health" under anti-Black white supremacy, and gave me words to further my own growth as an abolitionist.

Expand full comment